Skip to content. Skip to navigation
Personal tools

LOINC Document Ontology Axis Values

Current Working Draft of Document Ontology Axis Values (under revision)



  1. Ambulance
  2. Birthing Center
  3. Emergency Department
  4. Hospital
  5. Intensive Care Unit
  6. Long Term Care Facility
    1. Custodial Care Facility
    2. Nursing Facility
      1. Skilled Nursing Facility
      2. Unskilled Nursing Facility
  7. Observation unit
    1. Outpatient
      1. Ambulatory Surgical Center
      2. Office
      3. Outpatient Hospital
      4. Urgent Care Center
    2. Patient's Home
    3. Pharmacy
    4. Rehabilitation Hospital
    5. Telehealth
    6. Telephone Encounter
    by Daniel Vreeman last modified 2016-12-14 10:56

    Defining "Long term care facility"

    Posted by Daniel Vreeman at 2008-03-03 08:48
    Working definition: Includes the 4 post-acute care settings described by CMS - Skilled Nursing Facilities (SNFs), home health (HHA), Long-Term Care Hospitals (LTCHs) and Inpatient Rehabilitation Facilities (IRFs).

    Notes: Don't know that most people would include home health (e.g. patient's home) as a long term care facility. This definition would include rehab hospitals, which we have a separate node.
    Current Versions
    LOINC 2.59
    Released: 2017-02-21

    RELMA 6.18
    Released: 2017-02-21

    Mailing List
    Keep up to date with LOINC

    Get notices of new releases and our free LOINC Quick Start eBook bonus.

    Follow LOINC on Twitter

    You are here: Home Discussion Document Ontology LOINC Document Ontology Axis Values Setting