Version 2.76


The RNFL is formed from expansion of the fibers of the optic nerve and extends to the interior surface of the retina. The RNFL is divided into 4 quadrants when measured in each eye - temporal, superior, nasal, and inferior. Each 90 degree quadrant is further divided into three 30 degree sectors ("clock hours"). RNFL measurements include the thickness of each quadrant and the thickness of each sector. The mean thickness of the entire RNFL for each eye is calculated based on the individual measurements. In patients with glaucoma, RNFL changes in the inferior quadrant are most closely associated with glaucoma status. In addition, superior visual field defects, which correspond to the inferior RNFL quadrant, are usually the first to appear. PMID: 10636409 Source: Regenstrief LOINC

Basic Part Properties

Part Display Name
Retinal nerve fiber layer
Part Type
Fragments For Synonyms
Created On
Construct for LOINC Short Name

LOINC Terminology Service (API) using HL7® FHIR® Get Info

CodeSystem lookup$lookup?system=