Special Topics Workgroups

Existing workgroups

Defining a list of LOINC Systems for Microbiology

Laboratory Committee

The purpose of the special topics workgroup on the LOINC System for Microbiology terms is to review the spectrum of Systems used in LOINC Microbiology terms and to develop a proposal for a defined list of allowable System values for new terms. The workgroup will take into consideration the level of granularity needed in different domains, such as hospital laboratories, reference laboratories, and public health, the issue of specimen type versus specimen source, and existing ontologies for laboratory specimens.

First meeting: Aug. 7, 2018, 10:00 a.m. EDT
2018-08-07, 14:00 UTC
Subsequent meetings: Meetings are currently on hold

Swapna Abhyankar (Regenstrief)
Salve Achacoso (CHI)
Pam Banning (3M Health Information Systems)
Nancy Cornish (CDC)
Jami Deckard (Regenstrief)
Nassim Dunkin (Cerner)
James Fitzpatrick (Epic)
MariBeth Gagnon (CDC)
Xavier Gansel (bioMerieux)
Daniel Golson (Tennessee Dept. of Health)
Ram Gouripeddi (University of Utah)
Leanna Harmon (LabCorp)
Robert Hausam (Hausam Consulting)
Emily Henkle (OHSU-PSU SPH)
Barbara Herrmann (Mayo)

David Jones (Utah Dept. of Health)
Madhavi Khamar (Independent)
Rosanne Kowalski (Catholic Health)
Michael Martin (NAHLN)
Pam Noble (JP Systems)
Anil Patel (eHealth Ontario)
Tiffany Paulsen (ACL Laboratories)
Andrea Pitkus (Independent)
Rita Pyle (eHealth Ontario)
Amanda Santander (Tennessee Dept. of Health)
Lisa Thomas (eHealth Ontario)
Stephanie VenDouern (Nemours)
Joseph Yao (Mayo)
Mary Zabriskie (Regenstrief)

How to participate

We welcome your involvement with any of the current workgroups. Please contact us for specific meeting information.

As we consider future workgroup topics, we will invite participants based on domain expertise. We invite you to indicate your areas of proficiency.

Previous workgroups